Rotary Club of Calgary at Stampede Park Cleven Awards

This special Rotary Club of Calgary at Stampede Park internal awards program was established in 2006 to recognize the outstanding contribution of club members who take on significant responsibilities and commitments in furthering the work of our club.

The award is named the “Cleven Award” in honor of and recognition of the first president of the Rotary Club of Calgary at Stampede Park chartered as the Manchester Rotary Club in 1955. Harry Cleven was a very active Calgary community leader and a well-known and respected businessman. He was one of 62 people who were killed in the crash of a Trans Canada Airlines flight which crashed on Mount Slesse near Chilliwack on December 9, 1956. Harry made many positive contributions to the start-up and a strong foundation for our Rotary Club.

New recipients of this prestigious award are nominated by club members with a review by a committee, followed by our club Board of Director's support.


Past Cleven Award Recipients

2006/07  Art Borzel, Ted Rowsell

2007/08  Garth Nicholl, Wayne Robinson

2008/09  George Adam, Clayton Carroll

2009/10  Terry Allen, Greg Martin, Howard Miller

2010/11  Mel Gray, Bob Wiens

2011/12  Keith Davis, Bryan Target

2012/13  Ken Copithorne, Norm Devitt, Allan Johnson

2013/14  Glen Richardson, Michael Zacharki

2014/15  George Deegan, Hugh Delaney

2015/16  Bruce MacDonald, Don Taylor, Jack Thompson

2016/17  Len Hamm, Norm Legare 

2017/18 Bob Brawn, Bill Sumner

2018/19 Toby Oswald-Felker, John Shield 

2019/20 Craig Stokke, Earl Huson

2020/21 Jamie Moorhouse, Steve Mason

2021/2022 Dorothea Schaab, Sherry Austin

2022/23 Corrine Wilkinson, John Fitzsimmons